HOME   ABOUT ME   BLOG REVIEW INFO   BOOK REVIEW INDEX   GIVEAWAYS

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Most Wanted: Books of June 2013

For those who may not know, this is my monthly feature of the books I want most for the highlighted month, and then at the end I have a run down of the books I've reviewed during the previous month and then my TBR for the current one.

1. After Daybreak (Darkness Before Dawn #3)

Release Date: June 25, 2013
Author: J. A. London
Publisher: HarperTeen
Length: 336 pages

After Daybreak brings J.A. London's romantic dystopian Darkness Before Dawn series to a thrilling conclusion.

Dawn grew up behind a wall, terrified of the vampires outside who controlled the lives of humans and demanded their blood. But when she became a delegate for her city and met Victor, she realized that not all vampires were the same, that maybe one could be trusted.

Now Day Walker Sin is infecting his followers with a disease that turns them into mindless killers. Dawn and Victor will have to convince humans and vampires to band together to stop him, because alone they will all die.

Why I Want It: While I have yet to read the second installment, I LOVED the first one and cannot wait to finish this amazing trilogy.

2. Phoenix (Black City #2)

Release Date: June 4, 2013
Author: Elizabeth Richards
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Length: 368 pages

Ash and Natalie are just starting to build a life together when things in the United Sentry States go from bad to worse. Ash and Natalie find themselves at the center of turmoil when dictator Purian Rose threatens Natalie’s life unless Ash votes in favor of Rose’s Law—a law that will send Darklings and other dissenters to a deadly concentration camp known as the Tenth.

When Ash can’t bring himself to trade Natalie’s life for those of millions of Darklings, her fate is sealed. Enter Elijah Theroux, the handsome Bastet boy Natalie once saved from her mother’s labs, where he’d been experimented on and tortured. It was his venom the Sentry used to create the lethal Golden Haze, the heart of the government conspiracy that led to Black City’s uprising and Ash’s rebirth as the Phoenix, the face of the rebellion. Elijah is back and Ash doesn’t like him; it’s clear he’s taken with Natalie, and Ash fears she may have feelings for him as well.

But Elijah also may have the answer to taking down Purian Rose for good—a powerful weapon called the Ora. Ash, Natalie and Elijah just have to escape Black City undetected to find it. But fleeing the city and finding this weapon (if it even exists) are easier said than done, and the quest could tear Ash and Natalie apart, even pushing them into the arms of others.

This enthralling sequel to Black City is just as absorbing, delicious and steamy as the first book, leaving readers hungry for the series conclusion.

Why I Want It: I'll be honest with you, I haven't read Black City yet, though it's high on my TBR list and I just love the ideas behind the series as it seems like a great Romeo and Juliet reinterpretation.

3. PODs (Pods #1)

Release Date: June 4, 2013
Author: Michelle Pickett
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Length: 312 pages

Seventeen-year-old Eva is a chosen one. Chosen to live, while others meet a swift and painful death from an incurable virus so lethal, a person is dead within days of symptoms emerging. In the POD system, a series of underground habitats built by the government, she waits with the other chosen for the deadly virus to claim those above. Separated from family and friends, it's in the PODs she meets David. And while true love might not conquer all, it's a balm for the broken soul.

After a year, scientists believe the population has died, and without living hosts, so has the virus. That's the theory, anyway. But when the PODs are opened, survivors find the surface holds a vicious secret. The virus mutated, infecting those left top-side and creating... monsters.

Eva and David hide from the infected in the abandoned PODs. Together they try to build a life--a new beginning. But the infected follow and are relentless in their attacks. Leaving Eva and David to fight for survival, and pray for a cure.

Why I Want It: I have recently begun loving all thing post-apocalyptic, and this book sounds like it will be completely awesome. It looks to be full of action, adventure, and romance which mixed with the genre sound like an amazing novel.

4. The Lost Sun (The United States of Asgard #1)

Release Date: June 25, 2013
Author: Tessa Gratton
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Length: 368 pages

Fans of Neil Gaiman's American Gods and Holly Black's The Curse Workers will embrace this richly drawn, Norse-mythology-infused alternate world: the United States of Asgard.

Seventeen-year-old Soren Bearskin is trying to escape the past. His father, a famed warrior, lost himself to the battle-frenzy and killed thirteen innocent people. Soren cannot deny that berserking is in his blood--the fevers, insomnia, and occasional feelings of uncontrollable rage haunt him. So he tries to remain calm and detached from everyone at Sanctus Sigurd's Academy. But that's hard to do when a popular, beautiful girl like Astrid Glyn tells Soren she dreams of him. That's not all Astrid dreams of--the daughter of a renowned prophetess, Astrid is coming into her own inherited abilities.

When Baldur, son of Odin and one of the most popular gods in the country, goes missing, Astrid sees where he is and convinces Soren to join her on a road trip that will take them to find not only a lost god, but also who they are beyond the legacy of their parents and everything they've been told they have to be.

Why I Want It: Two words: Norse Mythology. Out of the three most popular mythologies, Greek, Egyptian, and Norse, Norse is the one I know the least about so to make up for it I read as much as I can, including books which revolve around it.

May Wrap-Up and June TBR



P.S. That is it for this month, What books are you looking forward to most this month, leave them in the comments below!

POST SIGNATURE

1 comment:

  1. Those are some great books that you are looking forward too. I adores the Unearthly series. I hope you enjoy the Delirium series too.

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

    ReplyDelete