HOME   ABOUT ME   BLOG REVIEW INFO   BOOK REVIEW INDEX   GIVEAWAYS

Monday, March 3, 2014

Book Review: Uninvited (Uninvited #1)

Release Date: January 28, 2014
Author: Sophie Jordan
Publisher: HarperTeen
Length: 384 pages

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann


Review:

Protagonist: When Davy is first introduced into this book she is a quintessential privileged girl. Now, I'm not saying she's spoiled, because she's not, but she is accustomed to a certain lifestyle. unfortunately all of that practically disappears the instant she finds out that she a carrier for HTS, aka "the kill gene." After that there's a change in her, it comes on subtle at first but over time she hardens into someone who can take care of herself. The irony in all of this is had she not been revealed to carry HTS, she may never have become the strong independent heroine she is. There were of course times when Davy annoyed me, mainly when she would constantly complain about how she couldn't have HTS, but that subsided the closer I got to the end.

Romance: Going into this book I was expecting either a love triangle or some sort of insta-love. In truth though, none of that happened. I was still skeptical even towards the end that a love triangle might form, but it didn't and the romance between Davy and Sean was great. I'm not sure that I would call their romance a slow burn because that wouldn't quite fit, but they did have amazing chemistry. There's one scene in particular that sticks out in my mind, and you'll have to read it and experience it for yourselves, but it was Perfect.

World-Building: This world was so beautifully built, on one hand we get Davy's experiences, but at the beginning of each chapter there is a snippet of something, a press conference, a texting conversation, or even a letter that adds a great extra level of depth to the story and the world. This world is powerful and at times it seems very real, though I guess that's the goal of any dystopian. It makes me wonder if I would react the way Davy's friends reacted if one of my friends was marked a carrier. It's chilling to think about.

Predictability: I went into this book with a bunch of preconceived notions about what might happen to Davy and the other main supporting characters. There were times when, on belief that the little snippet at the beginning of each chapter was foreshadowing that I would believe the worst was about to happen. As always here were times when I saw something coming, but I was surprised when most of the time while I was right about the basic intent of what was happening, what actually happened was very different than I had imagined.

Ending: My only real problem with this book was the ending, and it wasn't even a big problem at all, I just felt like some of the things that happened at the end happened too fast. It felt a bit rushed like there was a limit to how long this book needed to be and adding in another twenty or so pages would have crossed that line. The ending was great though and the little tiny bit of cliffhanger was just enough to know that I need to read the next book as soon as possible.

Rating:


Even with the rushed ending I loved this book so much that I couldn't fault it even half a crest. Going into it I was expecting to like it, but I never expected to LOVE it as much as I did. Rumor has it that this is the first of a duology which is kind of sad since I would love to see a full fledged trilogy or series emerge from this.

POST SIGNATURE

1 comment:

  1. This book was the bomb. I could not put it down. I just love Sophie's writing. At first, I wasn't sure I would like it. I thought it would be more of a contemporary read. But it's kind of a mix of contemporary with a bit of Dystopian. I'm looking forward to the next one to see where it all goes!

    ReplyDelete