HOME   ABOUT ME   BLOG REVIEW INFO   BOOK REVIEW INDEX   GIVEAWAYS

Friday, July 25, 2014

Book Review: Rebel (Reboot Duology #2)

Release Date: May 13, 3014
Author: Amy Tintera
Publisher: HarperTeen
Length: 352 pages

The sequel to the action-packed Reboot is a can't-miss thrill ride, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Veronica Roth, and Marie Lu.

After coming back from death as Reboots and being trained by HARC as soldiers, Wren and Callum have finally escaped north, where they hope to find a life of freedom. But when they arrive at the Reboot Reservation, it isn't what they expected. Under the rule of a bloodthirsty leader, Micah, the Reboots are about to wage an all-out war on the humans. Although Wren's instincts are telling her to set off into the wilderness on their own and leave the battle far behind, Callum is unwilling to let his human family be murdered. When Micah commits the ultimate betrayal, the choice is made for them. But Micah has also made a fatal mistake . . . he's underestimated Wren and Callum.

The explosive finale to the Reboot duology is full of riveting action and steamy love scenes as Wren and Callum become rebels against their own kind.

    

Review:

Protagonists: Unlike Reboot, Rebel is told from two points of view, Callum's and Wren's. This switch up seemed a bit odd at first considering that this series is a duology, but after quickly getting used to it I grew to like the two points of view. Not only because at times the story called for it, but also because we as readers have a chance to get to know Callum better and see from his point of view. Speaking of Callum, he and Wren really continue to grow and change in a very easy to see way. At one point their ideologies even begin to switch before finding a comfortable middle ground. I really love both these characters and how they seem to come right off the page, or in my instance screen, while reading about them.

Romance: Since this is a sequel, our love-struck heroes are out of the honeymoon phase where their romance is just beginning to blossom and now have to deal with their conflicting personalities their opinions on what's right and what's wrong, and work through those things as a couple. I really liked how their romance felt real, and while the situation they're in isn't necessarily something I or probably anyone can relate to personally, there are aspects that make it relateable. Also, the romance isn't as large of a plot as it was in the last book, in fact while it's there it's very tame, except for a few steamy scenes, and it's grown to a comfortable place.

World-Building: It seems as though our heroes escaped on megalomaniac only to replace it with another. While the world is not black and white I wouldn't call what Micah and his reservation of reboots are doing gray, or even white for that matter. They are just as crazy, or should I say many of them are just as crazy as HARC, just with an inverse ideology. While I liked this plot, I did have flashbacks to East River from The Darkest Minds, while this doesn't in any way rip that off, this in fact being much more brutal that East River, there is that same kind of dystopia within a dystopia that was a bit weird. With this series being a duology I had expected a straightforward ending storyline to the series. Instead I got the feeling that this could have fairly easily been a trilogy, there was even a chapter that ends with the perfect cliffhanger. Instead it continues on, and while it does bring to end the series, part of me felt like it could have been expanded into two books.

Predictability: So, I have to say there were a lot of surprising moments for me in this book. With it being the end of the series a lot happened that I was totally not prepared for. There was a bit of foreshadowing here and there but for the most part the only thing my powers of deduction had to go on were tropes and formulas which for the most part didn't really help me out all that much.

Ending: So like I said this book had a satisfying ending, although the final confrontation, which wasn't so close to the end this time, did have some surprises both good and bad. With this being a dystopian it's pretty easy to guess what will happen, but I'll leave that up to your brains to guess, but I will say that this book does truly end and doesn't leave you hanging like the last book in a certain dystopian series which I will not name.

Rating:


So yeah there were a few minor things about this book that could have been different but on the whole this was a very satisfying and thrilling sequel/ending. This series is full of action, romance, and humor and would be perfect for fans of The Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken and/or fans of The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings (I may have even accidentally forgotten Wren's name and called her Meadow while reading the book).

POST SIGNATURE

No comments:

Post a Comment